19/09: Spam of the day
Category: General
Posted by: Chuck Phillips
You may be seeing something in your inbox that claims to be from the Internal Revenue Service, with a subject of "Notice of Underreported Income". Now, if your scam alert is going off, good. Why? Digging into the body of the message, there's a link that says "Review tax statement". Where does it send you? www.irs.gov.kid1nx.eu/fraud_application/directory/statement.php
Now, at first glance you might think it sends you to the IRS, because it says irs.gov, right? The trouble is in the "kid1nx.eu" that follows, because that means we're actually heading off to a domain that is registered in Europe. This is why it always pays to look at where a link is going before you click on it. (Most email programs will show you the actual destination of a link in a hover dialog if you just roll you mouse over the link and pause for a second.)
Now, at first glance you might think it sends you to the IRS, because it says irs.gov, right? The trouble is in the "kid1nx.eu" that follows, because that means we're actually heading off to a domain that is registered in Europe. This is why it always pays to look at where a link is going before you click on it. (Most email programs will show you the actual destination of a link in a hover dialog if you just roll you mouse over the link and pause for a second.)